Five Washington state nurses inducted as AAN fellows, one inducted as NCSBN fellow

Web 190905 congrats

WSNA would like to congrat­u­late the following Washington state nurses on being named 2019 fellows by The American Academy of Nursing (AAN):

  • Lisa Day, PhD, RN, CNE — Day is Vice Dean for Educa­tional Innova­tion and Clinical Professor at Washington State Univer­sity College of Nursing in Spokane. She has consulted on several national nursing educa­tion-related projects; is a co-author of the landmark 2010 publi­ca­tion Educating Nurses: A Call for Radical Trans­for­ma­tion;” and has provided faculty devel­op­ment workshops and curriculum consul­ta­tions for schools of nursing in the US and Canada. 
  • Dawn Lee Garzon Maaks, PhD, RN, APRN, FAANP — An associate professor at the Univer­sity of Portland, Maaks is a seasoned nurse educator who has held multiple leader­ship roles in profes­sional nursing organi­za­tions, including presi­dent of the National Associ­a­tion of Pediatric Nurse Practi­tioners and chair of the American Nurses Creden­tialing Center (ANCC) pediatric nurse practi­tioner content expert panel. 
  • Kathleen H. Johnson, DNP, RN, NCSN, PHNA-BC, FNASN — Johnson is a clinical assis­tant professor at the Univer­sity of Washington (UW). She served as the manager of student health services at Seattle Public Schools and is chair of the Infor­matics Advisory Committee for the National Associ­a­tion of School Nurses. 
  • Elaine Walsh, PhD, RN, PMHCNS-BC — Walsh is an associate professor at the UW, and an ANCC Certi­fied Clinical Specialist in Child and Adoles­cent Psychi­atric and Mental Health Nursing. She is a member of the King County Suicide Preven­tion Coali­tion and an affil­iate faculty member of Forefront: Innova­tions in Suicide Preven­tion, based at the UW’s School of Social Work. 
  • Mayumi A. Willgerodt, PhD, MPH, RN — Willgerodt is an associate professor and vice-chair for Educa­tion in the depart­ment of Family and Child Nursing at the UW, and affil­iate faculty in the Center for Health Sciences Inter­pro­fes­sional Educa­tion Research and Practice (CHSIE). She has devel­oped, facil­i­tated, and led inter­pro­fes­sional (IP) curricula and training activ­i­ties for students and faculty and provides consul­ta­tion nationally. 

Inductees are chosen by AAN because they have made signif­i­cant contri­bu­tions to nursing and health care. The class of 2019 was announced on June 18 and includes 231 nurse leaders from 38 states. Inductees will be honored at a ceremony during the AAN’s annual policy confer­ence, Trans­forming Health, Driving Policy,” Oct. 24 – 26 in Washington, D.C

Addition­ally, Karl Hoehn, JD, Washington State Nursing Care Quality Assur­ance Commis­sion, was inducted into the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) group of fellows at their annual meeting Aug. 21 – 23 in Chicago. Hoehn was one of 14 nurse leaders inducted in 2019. NCSBN empowers and supports nursing regula­tors in their mandate to protect the public.